renewal in the red

Image

This photo is the start of a freshly made chicken broth that I made (how many times, I’ve lost track…) for the HOME soup project in the Red Light District. Although we have recipes ranging from Courgette with Smoked Salmon, to Pumpkin Cumin, the ladies favored the more traditional and simpler side of flavors, namely the homemade Chicken soup stood out above all. Perhaps it’s these simple comforts that remind us most of home.

Although my role of cooking the soup for the project has come to an end, I’m still involved in bringing and selling the soups to the women who stand behind the windows. I’m still adjusting to the realities that I face on the streets when I bring the soups to the women. It’s something I’ve wanted to process in writing for awhile but can never seem to get myself to do it… perhaps this will come in time. But for now a little snapshot of what happened over these last months since we officially started in March:

“This July HOME completed the pilot phase, and is evaluating the success of the project. “We have been able to count 973 soups that were sold to those working in prostitution,” said Saskia, “Another 237 soups were given away for free to those who were new or who had never tried the soup before. We counted approximately 33 different nationalities, the majority of women coming from Eastern Europe and South America, so you can imagine there are a lot of opinions about what makes good soup.”

Click here to see the latest news from Not for Sale’s website. 

Leave a comment